Agar agar

'''Veganwiki.info''': community project to create the biggest resource for and by vegans and vegetarians under a free license.
Jump to: navigation, search

Agar-Agar, is a substance made from mix of carbohydrates extracted from seaweed, specifically Red Sea algae. It's also known by its Japanese name, Kanten.

Agar-agar is available in several forms: bars, flakes, and powders. Agar has no calories, no sugar, no carbs, and no fat. Agar-agar has no flavor, odor or color.

As a thickening agent, it can be used as a vegan alternative for Gelatin or to replace eggs in some recipes. 9 grams of agar-agar powder, mixed with 15 grams of water, replaces one egg.

See also

Links