Miso

'''Veganwiki.info''': community project to create the biggest resource for and by vegans and vegetarians under a free license.
Jump to: navigation, search

Miso (Japanese: 味噌) is a Japanese seasoning produced by fermenting soybeans with salt and fungus.

The result is a thick paste used for sauces and spreads, pickling vegetables, and most notably mixing with soup stock to serve as miso soup.

There are many types of miso, with white and red the most common available.

Miso soup

Dashi stock

Miso soup is traditionally made with dashi stock, a rich fish broth made by boiling dried fish (like bonito flakes) and kelp.

To replace it to make the miso soup vegan, simply swap it for soy sauce. Making it with Mushrooms and seaweed also works really well.

See also

Links