Vinegar

'''Veganwiki.info''': community project to create the biggest resource for and by vegans and vegetarians under a free license.
Jump to: navigation, search

Vinegar is an acidic liquid made by fermenting a plant-matter. Mostly sourced from fruit-juice like apple-cider, wine or grains like rice.

If the Vinegar is vegan, would depend on how it was processed. There is chance it was filtered with an animal by-product.

When made from wine or beer that have already been fined by isinglass or gelatin, such vinegar is non-vegan since an animal was exploited in the process.

Not very common is vinegar that contains honey, which will usually be stated on the label.

Uses

It can be used in cooking and pickling, or cleaning.

A Vinaigrette is a dressing that uses oil and something sour, like vinegar or lemon-juice.

Types of vinegar

  • Apple Cider
  • Champagne
  • Distilled White
  • Malt
  • Red Wine
  • Rice
  • Sherry
  • White Wine

Balsamic vinegar

Is produced by fermenting grape-must for a number of years and letting it form naturally. Balsamic vinegar is one of the best types of vinegar for food.

See also

Links