Difference between revisions of "Mayonnaise"

'''Veganwiki.info''': community project to create the biggest resource for and by vegans and vegetarians under a free license.
Jump to: navigation, search
(stub)
 
 
(5 intermediate revisions by 3 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
'''Mayonnaise''' can easily be made from [[vegan]] ingredients. In most countries in the western world you can find egg free mayonnaise.
+
'''Mayonnaise''' is a thick creamy sauce popular around the world. Many brands of mayonnaise sold in shops are not vegan because they contain [[egg]] yolk or egg powder. However, in most countries in the western world one can find egg-free mayonnaise easily. Sometimes it is labeled as "mayonnaise with no cholesterol" or simply "vegan mayonnaise".
 +
 
 +
== Legal use of name ==
 +
[[FDA]] says vegan mayonnaise can't be called Mayonnaise. So let's use [[Veginaise]] instead. See: http://time.com/4009893/hampton-creek-just-mayo-vegan-egg/
 +
 
 +
== See also ==
 +
* [[Just Mayo]]
 +
 
  
{{stub}}
 
 
[[Category:Food]]
 
[[Category:Food]]

Latest revision as of 00:11, 16 February 2020

Mayonnaise is a thick creamy sauce popular around the world. Many brands of mayonnaise sold in shops are not vegan because they contain egg yolk or egg powder. However, in most countries in the western world one can find egg-free mayonnaise easily. Sometimes it is labeled as "mayonnaise with no cholesterol" or simply "vegan mayonnaise".

Legal use of name

FDA says vegan mayonnaise can't be called Mayonnaise. So let's use Veginaise instead. See: http://time.com/4009893/hampton-creek-just-mayo-vegan-egg/

See also