Difference between revisions of "Mayonnaise"

'''Veganwiki.info''': community project to create the biggest resource for and by vegans and vegetarians under a free license.
Jump to: navigation, search
 
(4 intermediate revisions by 2 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
 
'''Mayonnaise''' is a thick creamy sauce popular around the world. Many brands of mayonnaise sold in shops are not vegan because they contain [[egg]] yolk or egg powder. However, in most countries in the western world one can find egg-free mayonnaise easily. Sometimes it is labeled as "mayonnaise with no cholesterol" or simply "vegan mayonnaise".
 
'''Mayonnaise''' is a thick creamy sauce popular around the world. Many brands of mayonnaise sold in shops are not vegan because they contain [[egg]] yolk or egg powder. However, in most countries in the western world one can find egg-free mayonnaise easily. Sometimes it is labeled as "mayonnaise with no cholesterol" or simply "vegan mayonnaise".
  
Vegan mayonnaise can easily be made at home by blending [[soy milk]] with some vinegar, salt and mustard and then slowly blending in vegetable oil.
+
== Legal use of name ==
 +
[[FDA]] says vegan mayonnaise can't be called Mayonnaise. So let's use [[Veginaise]] instead. See: http://time.com/4009893/hampton-creek-just-mayo-vegan-egg/
  
== Recipes ==
+
== See also ==
 
+
* [[Just Mayo]]
* 1 cup [[soy milk]]
 
* 3 cups canola OR sunflower oil
 
* 3 tablespoons vinegar
 
* 2 tablespoons mustard
 
* 1 tablespoon agave syrup OR 1 teaspoon sugar
 
* 1 tablespoon (or less) salt
 
 
 
Blend soy milk, oil, vinegar, mustard, syrup and salt for ten seconds at high speed. While still blending, slowly and steadilly pour oil (it should take 3-5 minutes). At the end the whole mass has to become quite thick. It can be stored in a refrigerator for around two weeks.
 
 
 
Another recipy and a video on youtube: [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QfhS4_7LoSE How to Make Simple and Tasty Vegan Mayonnaise]
 
  
  
 
[[Category:Food]]
 
[[Category:Food]]

Latest revision as of 00:11, 16 February 2020

Mayonnaise is a thick creamy sauce popular around the world. Many brands of mayonnaise sold in shops are not vegan because they contain egg yolk or egg powder. However, in most countries in the western world one can find egg-free mayonnaise easily. Sometimes it is labeled as "mayonnaise with no cholesterol" or simply "vegan mayonnaise".

Legal use of name

FDA says vegan mayonnaise can't be called Mayonnaise. So let's use Veginaise instead. See: http://time.com/4009893/hampton-creek-just-mayo-vegan-egg/

See also