Difference between revisions of "Tamari"

'''Veganwiki.info''': community project to create the biggest resource for and by vegans and vegetarians under a free license.
Jump to: navigation, search
(Created page with "== See also == * Wikipedia:Tamari")
 
 
Line 1: Line 1:
 +
'''Tamari''', (たまり in Japanese), also known as '''Tamari shoyu''', is a type of [[soy sauce]], originated in the Chūbu region of [[Japan]].
 +
 +
Japan remains the leading producer of Tamari, though it has also become popular in the [[United States]] and worldwide because it’s [[vegan]] and usually [[Gluten-free diet|gluten-free]].
 +
 +
== History and overview ==
 +
It is the "original" Japanese soy sauce, as its recipe is closest to the soy sauce originally introduced to Japan from [[China]].
 +
Technically, this variety is known as '''miso-damari''' (味噌溜り), as this is the liquid that runs off [[miso]] as it matures.
 +
 +
The Japanese word tamari is derived from the verb '''tamaru''' (溜る, 'to accumulate'), referring to the fact that tamari was traditionally a liquid byproduct made during the fermentation of miso.
 +
 +
=== Comparison to other typs of soy sauce ===
 +
Tamari is darker in appearance and richer in flavor than koikuchi. It contains little or no [[wheat]]. Wheat-free tamari can be used by people with [[Gluten-related disorders|gluten intolerance]]. Tamari is more viscous than koikuchi.
 +
 +
Of soy sauce produced in Japan, 1.5% is tamari.
 +
 +
Oftentimes, other varieties of soy sauce are inaccurately referred to as Tamari shoyu. The back label in Japan, by law, will clarify whether or not it is actually tamari.
 +
 
== See also ==
 
== See also ==
* [[Wikipedia:Tamari]]
+
* [[Soy sauce]]
 +
 
 +
== External links ==
 +
* [https://www.bbcgoodfood.com/glossary/tamari-glossary What Is Tamari?]
 +
 
 +
[[Category:Food ingredients]]
 +
[[Category:Soy products]]
 +
[[Category:Liquid foods]]

Latest revision as of 23:32, 20 May 2021

Tamari, (たまり in Japanese), also known as Tamari shoyu, is a type of soy sauce, originated in the Chūbu region of Japan.

Japan remains the leading producer of Tamari, though it has also become popular in the United States and worldwide because it’s vegan and usually gluten-free.

History and overview

It is the "original" Japanese soy sauce, as its recipe is closest to the soy sauce originally introduced to Japan from China. Technically, this variety is known as miso-damari (味噌溜り), as this is the liquid that runs off miso as it matures.

The Japanese word tamari is derived from the verb tamaru (溜る, 'to accumulate'), referring to the fact that tamari was traditionally a liquid byproduct made during the fermentation of miso.

Comparison to other typs of soy sauce

Tamari is darker in appearance and richer in flavor than koikuchi. It contains little or no wheat. Wheat-free tamari can be used by people with gluten intolerance. Tamari is more viscous than koikuchi.

Of soy sauce produced in Japan, 1.5% is tamari.

Oftentimes, other varieties of soy sauce are inaccurately referred to as Tamari shoyu. The back label in Japan, by law, will clarify whether or not it is actually tamari.

See also

External links