Whey

'''Veganwiki.info''': community project to create the biggest resource for and by vegans and vegetarians under a free license.
Revision as of 07:09, 11 May 2020 by Harrys (talk | contribs) (Created page with "'''Whey''' is the liquid remaining after Dairy milk has been curdled and strained. It is a byproduct of the manufacture of cheese or casein and has several commercial...")
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

Whey is the liquid remaining after Dairy milk has been curdled and strained. It is a byproduct of the manufacture of cheese or casein and has several commercial uses.

Whey protein is commonly marketed as a dietary supplement. It is found as a food additive in many protein-powders and snack bars.

People who follow Vegan and Plant-based diets, or who are lactose intolerant, do not consume it.

Types

  • Whey protein concentrate
  • Whey protein hydrolysate
  • Whey protein isolate

Uses

Throughout history, whey was a popular drink in inns and coffee houses. Today it is common additive in many processed foods, including: breads, crackers, commercial pastries, and in animal feed.

Links